Absynthe Minded is a Belgian rock band led by frontman Bert Ostyn, known for blending thirties jazz, funky soul, Balkan beats, and Merseyside pop. Originally a solo project by Ostyn, the band evolved from his early recordings in the late 1990s.

In 1999, Ostyn recorded "More Than This" on an 8-track in Ghent. His 2000 demo, "Mushroom Holiday," marked the first collaboration with other musicians, leading to the formation of Tao Tse Tse. Ostyn's third demo, "Krankenhaus Hotel," was recorded on a Tascam four-track.

The band, initially called Absynthe Minded Quartet, released the demo "Sweet Oblivion" in 2002 and toured with acts like Spinvis and Zita Swoon. In 2003, they released their first official EP, "History Makes Science Fiction," and dropped "Quartet" from their name. Their debut album, "Acquired Taste," came out in 2004, followed by "New Day" in 2005, featuring the hit single "My Heroics, Part One."

Their third album, "There Is Nothing," was released in 2007. In 2009, "Absynthe Minded" came out, with singles "Envoi" and "Moodswing Baby." The band won multiple awards at the Flemish Music Industry Awards in 2010. Signed by French label AZ (Universal), they released "As It Ever Was" in 2012.

In 2020, they released "Riddle of the Sphinx." The current lineup includes founding members Bert Ostyn (vocals, guitar) and Sergej Van Bouwel (bass), along with new members Simon Segers (drums), Toon Vlerick (guitar), and Wouter Vlaeminck (keyboards, vocals).


19.06.24 / Hangar 3020 - Herent
28.06.24 / Genk on Stage - Genk
29.06.24 / Live /s Live - Antwerpen
06.07.24 / Na Fir Bolg - Vorselaar
13.07.24 / Vijverfestival - Dilbeek
22.07.24 / Gentse Feesten Trefpunt Festival - Gent
14.09.24 / Pukema - Puurs


We use cookies